25 August 2013

Central Scholarship for Minority Community 2013-14

Leave a Comment
Scholarship for Minority
Every year 20000 scholarships will be distributed among the students of minority communities throughout the country. Distribution of scholarship is based on the state-wise population of minority communities. The distribution of scholarship for Arunachal Pradesh and other North East state will be as under:

1.Arunachal Pradesh: 114 Nos. of Scholarship
2.Assam: 2943 Nos. of Scholarship
3. Manipur: 294 Nos. of Scholarship
4. Meghalaya: 546 Nos. of Scholarship 
5. Mizoram: 273 Nos. of Scholarship
6. Nagaland: 579 Nos. of Scholarship 
7. Sikkim: 63 Nos. of Scholarship

Eligibility criteria:

  1. Students, who have got admission in a recognized college to pursue technical/professional courses, on the basis of a competitive examination.
  2. Students, who have got admission in a recognized college to pursue technical/professional courses, without facing any competitive examination, will also be eligible for scholarship.  However, such students should have not less than 50% marks at higher secondary/graduation level. Selection of these students will be done strictly of merit.
  3. A scholarship holder under this scheme will not avail any other scholarship/stipend for pursuing the course.
  4. The annual family income of the beneficiary/parent or guardian of the beneficiary should not exceed Rs.2.50 lakh per annum from all sources.
  5. A student residing in a particular State/UT will be entitled for scholarship under    the quota of that State/UT only irrespective of his place of study.

Funding Pattern of the Scheme

The Scheme will be implemented by the State Governments and Union Territory Administrations, which receive 100% central assistance from Government of India for the total expenditure under the scheme.

How to apply:

Applications in the prescribed format may be submitted to the Secretary of the, deptt. of the concerned State Govt/UT administration, dealing with minority welfare, through the institutions where the students are pursuing technical/professional courses.  The student must submit their applications to the state which he/she belongs to and not to the state where the institution where he/she is studying, is located.
An application for scholarship should comprise:
  1. One copy of the application for scholarship in the prescribed form (separate application forms  prescribed for ‘fresh’ and renewal of scholarship by the concerned States/UTs).
  2. One copy of the passport size photograph with signatures of the student thereon (for fresh scholarship).
  3. One attested copy of certificates, diploma, degree etc. in respect of all examinations passed.
  4. An income declaration by the self-employed parents/guardians, stating definite income from all sources by way of an affidavit on non-judicial stamp paper.  Employed parents/guardians are required to obtain income certificate from their employer and for any additional income from other sources, they would furnish declaration by way of an affidavit on non-judicial stamp paper.
  5. Proof of permanent residence.
  6. A receipt in acknowledgement of the scholarship in the previous year on the form attached to the application duly counter-signed by the Head of the Institution concerned, if the application was in receipt of a scholarship under this scheme in the preceding year. 
List of institutions eligible for reimbursement of full course fee under merit cum means based scholarship scheme for the students belonging to minority communities.
Arunachal Pradesh
  1. North Eastern Regional Institute of Science and Technology (NERIST), Nirjuli-79110 (Itanagar), Arunachal Pradesh.
  1. Indian Institute of Technology, (IIT), North Guwahati, Guwahati – 781039.
  2. National Institute of Technology, Silichar – 788010. (Assam)
  1. National Institute of Fashion Technology, Shillong (Meghalaya).
  2. Indian Institute of Management, Shilong
  1. National Institute of Technology, Agartalla, Tripura. 
For Full Details about the  Scholarship visit here


Post a Comment